30 songs in 30 days: #11 – “Welcome All Again” (Collective Soul)

Day 11: A song from your favorite band

Ever since hearing the fuzzy, uplifting guitar riff of “Shine” during middle school, I’ve been a big Collective Soul fan. Emerging from the Atlanta, Georgia music scene and scoring significant radio play throughout the ‘90s, Collective Soul felt like a balm to soothe the savage grunge beast. Their music was more pop-oriented and melodic and their lyrics more hopeful. After “Shine” came radio hits like “The World I Know,” “Smashing Young Man,” and “December,” all from their self-titled second album, which I scooped up on cassette alongside Alice in Chains’ Dirt and Bush’s Sixteen Stone. I’ve had a lot of “favorite bands” since then, depending on the rock subgenre trend in my listening habits at any given time, but Collective Soul has always been a mainstay in my library. I own nearly all their studio albums in one format or another, from their debut Hints, Allegations, and Things Left Unsaid through 2007’s Afterwords, in addition to select tracks from their two newest albums. Sadly, I don’t think they get a lot of radio play these days (correct me if I’m wrong; I don’t really listen to radio anymore myself). So rather than pick one of their well-known hits from the ‘90s for this list, I’m choosing the lead-off track from their 2009 second self-titled record, nicknamed Rabbit due to the cover art. Give the song a whirl, so to speak, and I think you’ll find that despite lineup changes over the years, Collective Soul are rocking just as spectacularly as they were twenty years ago.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

