30 songs in 30 days: #14 – “A Thousand Years” (Christina Perri)

Day 14: A song that no one would expect you to like

In an earlier post I wrote about first hearing Hozier’s song “Take Me to Church” during a European vacation, and how it and another song reminded me of driving through the Italian and Swiss Alps on a rainy, overcast afternoon. Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years” is that other song. People familiar with my tastes in music probably wouldn’t think I’d like an emotional ballad, especially one that came from the soundtrack of one of the Twilight movies. I’m not exactly a fan of the Twilight franchise, but when I first became familiar with the song, I had no idea of its origins. I only knew that over gentle piano and accompanying strings, the lyrics seemed perfectly suited for two of my own fictional characters, estranged lovers struggling against time and fate to reconnect. In fact, a particular scene comes to mind whenever I hear “A Thousand Years,” and it’s not the sweet, tender reconciliation you might expect, more like the unfolding of a giant stumbling block in their attempt to reunite. I don’t remember which preceded the other, writing the scene or hearing the song for the first time, but they’ve become inseparably intertwined in my mind. Whenever the song comes up on my playlist, I’m reminded of the devastation my two characters feel, and whenever I review my own words, I hear Ms. Perri’s lyrics in my mind, narrating a scene of helplessness and heartbreak. Too bad about the song being on a Twilight soundtrack; I’d have wanted it for my own.

(Sorry, not allowing any Bella and Edward on my blog.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 songs in 30 days: #14 – “A Thousand Years” (Christina Perri)

  1. Ugh Twilight, right? That being said though, the soundtracks (all four of them) have some freaking FANTASTIC alternative/pop music on them including Grizzly Bear, Bon Iver & St. Vincent, A Fine Frenzy, Muse, Paramore, COLLECTIVE SOUL! Have no guilt, friend. Good music is good music (and I’ve “stolen” some of the songs for my WIPs too).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

