30 songs in 30 days: #15 – “I’ll Be There For You” (Bon Jovi)

Day 15: A song that describes you

Yes, Bon Jovi. But not “Have a Nice Day” Bon Jovi. This is straight-out-of-the-80s, rockin’-power-ballad Bon Jovi. I don’t necessarily identify with the hair metal era, but there are enough elements of this song in line with my self-description that I can at least give a tongue-in-cheek explanation for choosing it as a song that describes me.

First, the title. I consider myself (and SO agrees that I’m) a very loyal person, especially to friends and loved ones. So “I’ll Be There For You” seems appropriate on the face of it. Next, the lyrics profess undying love even after a breakup. While that perhaps isn’t realistic, I appreciate the sentiment, being a sappy romantic at heart underneath my sarcasm and practicality. Then there’s the music. This song may be a ballad, but it rocks. And I love rock. Everything about this song shouts full-throttle, give-it-your-all dedication, and that’s something I can get behind. Bonus—Bon Jovi is from New Jersey, the song is off their album New Jersey, and I’m from New Jersey. The more I think about it, the more fitting this song really is for me. So love hard, rock hard, and enjoy some classic ‘80s Bon Jovi.

And have a nice day.

One thought on “30 songs in 30 days: #15 – “I’ll Be There For You” (Bon Jovi)”

Leave a Reply

