30 songs in 30 days: #22 – “Sullivan Street” (Counting Crows)

Day 22: A song that you listen to when you’re sad

Who hurt you, Adam Duritz? Who hurt you? Seriously, if you’re familiar with the Counting Crows only through their radio hits, you’re missing out. Don’t get me wrong, the released singles are quality, but you don’t really get the emotional depth found elsewhere in their catalog. Frontman Adam Duritz is a truly gifted songwriter, able to weave effortlessly between catchy, jangling pop hits, delicately beautiful ballads, and raw, tormented laments. Today’s entry falls somewhere between the last two. A tacit resignation of a relationship’s inevitable, impending end, “Sullivan Street” is one of my favorite tracks off the Crows’ superb freshman release, August and Everything After. If Adam’s subdued despondency doesn’t put a lump in your throat, then I suspect you may not have a heart to be broken.

3 thoughts on “30 songs in 30 days: #22 – “Sullivan Street” (Counting Crows)”

  1. Oh my God. Loved this album (still do, actually although Mr. Jones was on my hate list for a while since it was soooo over-rotated) and it’s a toss between Round Here and Sullivan Street for my favorite tracks. Such an angsty, painful song…..good choice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Looooooooove Round Here. I can’t decide which is my favorite Crows album: August… or Recovering the Satellites. I knew the latter first. Edgier, rockier, more in-your-face. But August… is so humbly elegant, especially for a debut. Such a tough choice.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “The Long December” is probably one of my favorite songs. It was sort of my personal theme this past winter when my dad had been diagnosed with cancer and my grandma was quickly declining. So much shit going on, so much darkness and that song – it was on repeat in my head especially the lines: “maybe this year will be better than the last…I can’t remember all the times I tried to tell my myself
        To hold on to these moments as they pass.” Adam Duritz is achingly brilliant. My heart clenches thinking about it, all that emotion but in the pain still hope.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

