30 songs in 30 days: #24 – “Since You’ve Been Gone” (“Weird Al” Yankovic)

Day 24: A song that you want to play at your funeral

I’m not particularly fond of the idea of having a wake or a funeral when I die. Too grim and depressing. But I suppose it’s more for the “mourners” than for me. Besides, I won’t be able to say anything about it by that time. So I suppose if I have to have one, and if I have to pick a song to be played at it, I’d want something that’s going to make at least a few people laugh despite themselves. And for that purpose, I turn to the master of musical comedy, “Weird Al” Yankovic. Now, any number of his songs will elicit some chuckles from the people I’ll have left behind, but I want a song somewhat appropriate (or maybe inappropriate) for the occasion. So I choose the a capella, doo-wop-inspired “Since You’ve Been Gone” (and no, this has nothing to do with the Kelly Clarkson song of nearly the same name). Granted, it sounds directed more toward the other half of a bad breakup, but Weird Al’s gratuitous descriptions of how much pain he’s been in since his separation from the song’s object are, I think, perfectly applicable to losing a loved one. And the punchline, the last line of the song, should be horribly effective at making people forget themselves and let out a guffaw or two. I know my siblings, at least, would get a kick out of it. It’ll be my own little protest of the rather macabre institution of funerals.

Leave a Reply

