30 songs in 30 days: #25 – “Song for the Dumped” (Ben Folds Five)

Day 25: A song that makes you laugh

Ben Folds makes a rare second appearance on my song challenge list! His first was for a song that makes me sad, so showing up today for a song that makes me laugh just demonstrates his versatility as a songwriter. Coming from Ben Folds Five’s sophomore effort Whatever and Ever, Amen, “Song for the Dumped” is exactly what the title implies—a cathartic outlet for someone receiving the short end of the stick in a non-mutual breakup. Not necessarily an inherently funny situation, but I don’t think Ben Folds has ever been known to take himself too seriously. In no uncertain terms, he rails against his dumper, demanding just compensation for the time and effort he invested in the relationship while hammering away at a piano. Whenever I hear the song, I get the mental image of 1990s Ben on the big wraparound porch of a woman’s home, punishing the ivories of an upright as his brand-new ex endures his aural assault. An amusing scene, to say the least. I don’t make a habit of laughing at another’s suffering, but this song never ceases to put a smile on my face. Besides, it’s okay to laugh if he’s making fun of himself a bit. Right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 songs in 30 days: #25 – “Song for the Dumped” (Ben Folds Five)

  1. Words cannot express how much I love this song. Best line “Give me money back, give me my money back you bitch.” I played that song over and over again after getting dumped by the guy I was dating my sophomore year of college who couldn’t understand why I “didn’t want to still be friends.” We both knew he just wanted my lecture notes from the class we were in together….asshole. It was definitely a “how dare you break up with me!” kind of break-up (I’m laughing as I type this, by the way). Anyhow, I digress…

    Other fantastically sarcastic and funny songs from this album: “One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces,” “Kate” (my personal fav because I KNEW that girl…well one just like her), and “Battle of Who Could Care Less.” All break up the rest of the dark, aching lyrics on some of the other tracks, particularly “Brick” and “Smoke.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

